Nothing but the web?

I received a Chromebook in the mail today. Many months ago I had filled out an application for the pilot program, but I had completely forgotten about it. Today’s delivery was a complete surprise.

As part of the pilot program, I said that if given the opportunity I would blog about the Chromebook and send ’em some feedback. So. I will.

In the box:

  • The Chromebook, sans battery
  • Battery
  • Wall charger
  • Stickers
  • Safety Notices
  • Instruction sheet thingy

Stickers? Yes, stickers. The chromebook has no branding. It’s black and enigmatic, with no labels, no engraved logo — just a keyboard and a display … and black. So I guess they threw in some stickers for those who feel the need to fill the space.

I read the entire Safety Notice (“The usual yada yada … just more fun.”). It’s nice when the legal department has a sense of humor. Here’s a few excerpts:

This product contains sensitive components. Do not drop, disassemble, open, crush, bend, deform, puncture, blend (guess we’ll never know if it’ll blend), shred, incinerate, paint, bring to the moon, or insert foreign objects into the device.

Do not expose the device to water, moisture, or rap music.

This product contains small parts, which may present a choking hazard to small children, as well as men who have not emotionally matured.

You can turn on the power by pressing the button indicated in the figure, or just by opening the display panel. That’s right – we removed one step between you and the Internet. Shock. And. Awe.

Instruction Sheet Thingy tells you about the different buttons and whatnot.

The function keys have been replaced with:

That was your quick introduction.

I know the entire point of this thing is the OS, but I definitely have a few thoughts about the hardware and the form-factor, which I’ll post about later. I’ll leave off with just this:

Instant-on is awesome.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Chromebook: Under the Hood | pafnuty.blog
  2. Pingback: Chromebook: 3G for Free | pafnuty.blog
  3. Pingback: Computers in my life | pafnuty.blog

Leave a Reply

