Computers in my life

Acer Aspire TimelineX
Laptop w/ 11.1″ screen
Intel Core i5
Windows 7

Notion Ink Adam
Tablet with 10.1″ screen
Dual Core Cortex A-9
Android 2.3 Gingerbread with EdenX

Google Chromebook CR-48
Laptop w/ 12.1″ screen
Intel NM10
Google Chrome OS

Sony VAIO VGN-TX-750p
Laptop w/ 11.1″ screen
Intel Pentium M
Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

I use the Acer everyday, all day at work. It is my workhorse, housing all my documents, projects, development environments. It has Eclipse, XAMPP, Photoshop, OpenOffice, and dozens of utilities and tools. It also holds my personal documents, pictures and music. It is small enough to it wherever I go. I make a special effort use it sparingly, in hopes of extending its life and minimizing chances of damage.

The Adam is a tablet, and has the smallest footprint of them all, so I end up using it when I’m on the move. It is 3G enabled, but I haven’t signed up for a data plan yet. My top uses for it are Google Reader, Gmail and Seesmic when I’m connected to the internet, and the eBook reader (Google / Kindle) and Chess when I’m not. I would use it a lot more if it would more easily connect to wifi networks, and if it had a better ‘sleep’ mode to conserve batteries.

The Chromebook is rising very rapidly in use. It is my biggest laptop and the heaviest, but the fact that it starts up very quickly means it is convenient for quick reference. It is also the best one to hand over to guests when they need to check Email or directions or whatever. I unexpectedly got this guy for free recently.

The VAIO used to be my do-everything machine until I got the Acer. It was too slow to keep up with the things I needed to do. I used this laptop so much that it’s gone through two or three battery replacements, and now it has to be pretty much plugged in all the time. I wiped everything and installed Ubuntu instead of Windows, and it runs beautifully. When I want to do something on Linux I pop it open, but now most of its value is nostalgic.

Leave a Reply

