Detached HEAD — a git discovery

Recently I found myself with a detached HEAD. In Git.

This was the first time I encountered such a thing. When you are working on, or checkout, commits that are not attached to any branch, you have a detached head situation. Your commits are branchless. There is a pretty easy fix to this, and the solution is pretty easy to find on SO.

Check out SO: Why did git detach my head?

I retraced my steps to figure out exactly how this happened.

I created a branch (git branch newfeature; git checkout newfeature) and then cloned my repository for further work on this branch. This created an ambiguity for git: both the clone and master branch had a branch named newfeature. When I pulled my work from master with git pull , the commits were not attached to any branch.

The symptoms

I didn’t recognize this unfamiliar situation. I did notice I couldn’t find all those commits.

  • They weren’t visible with git log or git log newfeature.
  • git status with newfeature checked out showed a clean working directory.

With help from @ddunlop, I was finally able to view the commits with git log <hash>. I got the commit hash using git log in my cloned repo.

This is how I resolved the problem.

  1. git checkout <hash>.  I checked out my most recent commit using its hash. Git informed me that I was now in a ‘detached HEAD’ state. After that it was easy. I googled the provocative “detached HEAD” message and did some learning.
  2. git checkout newfeature
  3. git branch newfeature_2 6e51426cdb
  4. git merge newfeature_2
  5. git checkout master
  6. git merge newfeature

Then I just deleted the extra branches.

In the process, I also learned about “tracking” branches. Check out the useful SO: Switch branch without detaching head

Leave a Reply

